Programing My Mind

IMG_0379

I’ve been learning a new programing language lately and along with lessons in how to write queries, I’ve also gotten some interesting lessons in how life works. I don’t claim to be an expert in programing languages or databases of any sort. Yet despite having only begun to scratch the surface, but I can’t help but find parallels between the organization of a database system and human perception. Allow me to explain. When you’re writing a query, basically you are telling the computer how to organize the large blob of information you have. Sometimes you want to organize the information by someone’s last name, sometimes you’re interested in birthdates. Whatever. When you’re writing the query, you tell the computer what matters to you and the outcome is exactly what you asked for. The computer isn’t going to guess that it would be good for you to also get some other information. No, it will only produce what you tell it. After frustratingly not getting what I needed to get one day, I realized that I was missing an entire field because I wasn’t asking for the correct information. This got me to thinking. What if the same goes for how the human mind works? What if our limitations, our fears, our insecurities, our weaknesses, whatever you want to call them are all the products of our failing to ask the right questions? If you input negativity or a preconditioned expectation into the system (aka your mind) then your perception of the situation will always be defined by that negativity/expectation and always produce a negative outcome.
Recently an aunt of mine came to visit. I never knew her on a very personal level, mainly because we don’t see each other very often. I never felt very close to her, and always found it difficult to find things in common to discuss. She asked me to take her to the store and as we were going through the isles, I was pleasantly surprised when she brought up the discussion of positivity. This aunt, who I had never really discussed anything personal with before, decided on this very day, when I had already been mulling over this concept of perception and input, to bring up her beliefs about positivity. She explained how she thought that what we believe and how we think defines our lives and affects our health. I was astounded. Essentially this one conversation with her changed my “input” for this aunt. Now I’m not saying that this one change in input has completely changed our relationship, but it did change the rest of my day with her. I adjusted the questions that I had in my mind about her, from “How am I going to get through this shopping trip? And What in the world are we going to talk about?” to a higher level of questions graced with a more positive tone. I began wondering “How did she begin to think about positivity herself?” and “What lessons can I draw from her as a woman?” The rest of the day flowed smoothly and it was easy to find more topics of common interest.

I even believe that it goes beyond the conscious questions that we ask. I believe this concept goes all the way down to the core of our perceptions of the world. If we work at being positive and focus on looking at the world around us through this lens, then our input allows for an output of positivity. What’s wonderful about this input/output process is that we can work towards developing a useful input in our lives. Once we are aware of the impact our thought processes have on our lives, then we can focus on developing habits that produce happiness. This opens the door for more happiness and positivity to come into our lives. We’ve always known what outcomes we want. These are our dreams and goals. Now we have the formula to produce them.

1 thought on “Programing My Mind”

Quibble Away!

